Hack To The Future promo video

I received some more questions today about Hack To The Future, so today, in front of a class I recorded a short presentation about it. The children at our school have not experienced anything quite like this before, so they have been asking me lots of questions. This video was recorded on my phone by a 13 yr old pupil – sorry if the quality is not too great.

Just yesterday, I released the first batch of tickets to children on this site here. For a number of reasons, I have had to create a separate event page for the children to sign up on. If you would like to bring some 11 – 18 year olds to this event, please sign up now. Although the event is described as North West – everyone from around the UK is welcome to attend. If you are interested in speaking or volunteering, please sign up on a separate site here.

One thing I am particulary keen to promote is the role of girls in computing. It can be a struggle to persuade girls 12+ that this is something they should be looking at. In the last couple of days I recorded interviews with two groups of girls and got different responses.I will continue some more of these – if you have questions you would like me to ask, let me know.

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Daniel K says:

    I think this is a great program. until I was twelve or thirteen, I had no interest in computers except for playing games. Now that I attend a technical school (Engineering is my course), I have an interest in programming, hardware, and many other aspects of computers.
    As to the topic of females in computing: it’s unfortunately uncommon. In my engineering course, there are only three girls out of thirty students. Most girls I talk to will say something along the lines of “I don’t know anything about all of that computer stuff”. That is something that ought to be changed. Getting a basic grasp on computing is not all that difficult, and once you have a basic knowledge, most people will hunger for more.

    Like

  2. I’m investigating the feasibility of doing something very similar in Melbourne. You’ve inspired to take the 1st steps.

    1) Can I use your branding, with suitable acknowledgement of course?
    2) How difficult would it be for people who are not school teachers to do this?

    Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

