Girls in Computing Science

A great article in the Guardian today, written by Samantha Bail of Manchester Girl Geeks. Samantha has made a great impact in Manchester with the Girl Geek events.

My humble response to the Guardian article.

This week, I discovered how many of our Year 9 pupils (14&15 yr olds) have chosen to study GCSE Computing (not ICT) next year at GCSE.

Last year 15 boys and no girls chose to study GCSE Computing.

This year 17 boys and 3 girls have chosen to study GCSE Computing.

I don’t know whether I should be happy that finally some girls have opted to choose Computing or disappointed that more did not choose it. I’ve have been trying hard (difficult perhaps being a man) to persuade girls to consider themselves as being just as good, if not better than boys at this.

Some things I tried were the hack rap “Computing..not just for men, but all you women and girls” http://audioboo.fm/boos/607041-hack-rap

We have an encouraging amount of girls coming to our Hack To The Future event next month. http://h2df.eventbrite.co.uk/?ebtv=F

Recently in my lessons at school, I have tried to focus more on the responses from girls to computing science related activities in class. It is my perception that girls in Year 7 & 8 are generally more receptive to seeing themselves as capable as boys in these activities, more so than older girls. I found this video and thought it might help change some impressions.

Why Computing Science?

Leave a Reply

