Listen: My lessons with Year 10 GCSE Computing class

 

 

For most people, the quickest way to start listening to this podcast is to visit iTunes and search for ‘teknoteacher’.

Each week I have been recording my reflections on what I have been teaching to my Year 10 GCSE Computing class. I have been using the Audioboo app to record each episode. You can listen through Audioboo or you can download in iTunes, just search for ‘teknoteacher’. Some people tell me they listen on their daily commute to school.

Year 10 GCSE Computing, lessons 1, 2 & 3

Year 10 GCSE Computing, Lessons 4 & 5

Year 10 GCSE Computing, Lessons 6,7&8

Year 10 GCSE Computing, lessons 9&10

Year 10 GCSE Computing, Lessons 11,12 & 13

Year 10 GCSE Computing, Lessons 14 & 15

Year 10 GCSE Computing, Lessons 16, 17 & 18

Year 10 GCSE Computing, Lessons 19

Year 10 GCSE Computing, Lessons 20 & 21

If you think the podcasts can be tweaked or improved to suit your needs better – please let me know, I wont be offended. The intention is to help other teachers interested in teaching GCSE Computing. If it’s not working then it’s probably a waste of my time and yours, so please let me know, via this page or @teknoteacher or email to alanATodonohoeDOTorgDOTuk.

If you want to download the iTunes podcast or subscribe, click here.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. daibarnes says:

    Hi Alan. Thanks for posting this. I received a copy via email and decided to listen because I’m trialling sections of OCR Computing GCSE spec with a Y9 class this year. Therefore, your account of your lessons is useful to me. Would like a bullet point list of lessons in the blogpost if you can find the time. 🙂

    Like

  2. Bootsonfire says:

    Hi Alan,

    Thanks for this, it has given me some great ideas for future lessons. Hope you keep it up.

    Bootsonfire

    Like

  3. Stuart says:

    Thanks – I really enjoyed listening to this. Some great ideas here that got me thinking.

    Like

  4. Stuart says:

    Thanks for posting this – some great ideas that really got me thinking.

    Like

  5. Ed Dourass says:

    Very useful set of podcasts. We are going with OCR (is that the exam board you said you use?) from September. Two questions really….do you have lots of resources that you use? I noticed teach-ict has lots linked in with OCR. Does Python fully allow students to tackle all of the OCR programming scenarios? I was concerned that Python was a bit limited in terms of creating user interfaces for the programs? I am not knowledgable with programming so not sure?

    Like

Leave a Reply

